Author Topic: OT: Anyone know anything about patents?  (Read 3583 times)

Offline Plantains

• I've succumbed to corporate level marketing ploys.
  • No you are the one that is stupid!
OT: Anyone know anything about patents?
« on: April 22, 2009, 11:45:16 PM »
So... slightly off topic. I've been working on a number of inventions for the past couple of years. I was stuck on a problem with making one of them function correctly (likely because I'm not an electrical engineer) and I had a huge breakthrough the other night making it finally prototypable and functional.

My question (mostly for the engineers I guess) I know that schematics or blueprints are the way to go. But do you guys learn about how to go about putting something you design on paper so that its marketable? I mean... I started filling out paper work for patents on 2 of the ideas, but I want to have a functioning prototype of each (or at least drawings/schematics) to submit with the patents, so that it will be a design patent instead of simply an idea patent. I just don't know anything about any of this? Any help or just general thinking aloud would be helpful.

1 device is an electrical device, so I'm thinking wiring diagrams.
The other device is a mechanical device so I'm thinking more like blueprints?

Thoughts? Or know anyone/where I can go to talk to or find out?
Alaska Unicyclist: if you ban me, i'll set your complex on fire.... just a heads up

Offline Meest

• UND
Re: OT: Anyone know anything about patents?
« Reply #1 on: April 23, 2009, 12:26:09 AM »
Find a patent lawyer and get the correct information. I too have asked this for my audio tinkering, and it is the only correct answer as patent filing has turned into something the common person can't do without somehow screwing themselves over without knowing it, thanks to the system. There were some very convincing stories that were shown to me.