Author Topic: ND tuition frreeze?  (Read 5017 times)

Offline Admiral Ackbar

• UND
ND tuition frreeze?
« on: April 03, 2008, 08:54:27 AM »
We should do this.  School is a good thing.

VIEWPOINT: N.D. should freeze tuitions for two years
By Mac Schneider, Grand Forks Herald
Published Thursday, April 03, 2008
GRAND FORKS — About this time in 2002, I was getting ready to graduate from UND. The cap-and-gown order was in, the invitations were in the mail, and my camera-happy mom was eagerly awaiting the day I would get my diploma.

That May, I walked across the stage with hundreds of my friends and classmates before heading off to an internship in Washington, feeling lucky to have had such a high-quality education.

The icing on the cake was that I graduated debt-free. Between help from my family, a few part-time jobs and a modest athletic scholarship, I was able to afford the $3,261 in tuition and mandatory fees my senior year without taking on student loans that would have limited my choices after graduation.

For the class of 2008, it’s a different story. These soon-to-be graduates have had to pay $6,130 to complete their last year of college.

I majored in history, not mathematics. But if I’ve done my long division correctly, that amounts to a nearly 88 percent increase in tuition and fees in a little over half a decade.

Now there are indications that tuition could go even higher. Today, the State Board of Higher Education is likely to vote on a university system budget that would let campuses increase tuition by as much as 4 percent a year for the next two years.

While the board has correctly identified many important priorities in its proposal, including much-needed pay increases for faculty and staff, further burdening our students and their families in a time of sizeable budget surpluses is neither fair nor a good policy.