Author Topic: Distracted Driving  (Read 4655 times)

Offline Toaster

• UND
Distracted Driving
« on: April 03, 2011, 08:21:39 PM »
Don't talk on your phone/text and drive. This girl kills a guy on his bike while she was texting, and get sentenced to probation and 100 hours of community service. That's justice?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rr7TfwtO17I

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jf5TO7hObSg&feature=related

DC, are you a cop yet? Start fining/arresting these idiots.
Just try and step to UND Cycling if you wanna test your luck.

Offline Plantains

• I've succumbed to corporate level marketing ploys.
  • No you are the one that is stupid!
Re: Distracted Driving
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2011, 11:08:11 PM »
No... but there is a road that's closed for construction near my house that makes it VERY inconvenient to get to my buddy's house. But I just drive around the road closed signs. The construction workers definitely think I'm a cop.

The moral of this story is... road closed means road closed unless you're DC.

Seriously though. You should've seen the shock and awe the texting and driving people brought to the auto show here. It was like a tree with a car growing on it. Crazy.
Alaska Unicyclist: if you ban me, i'll set your complex on fire.... just a heads up

Offline OUWxGuesser

• UND
« Reply #2 on: April 03, 2011, 11:28:20 PM »
Didn't call 911 and won't admit what exactly distracted her?  You'd think those bits of information would factor into the sentencing.  I wonder how many cyclists are hit a year in GFK.   

You know what's more amazing?  I was sentenced to 120 hours of community service in HS for a prank that caused no permanent property damage.  Man is our legal system jacked up. 

Offline Plantains

« Reply #3 on: April 04, 2011, 12:19:20 AM »
Tell me about it... ::)
Alaska Unicyclist: if you ban me, i'll set your complex on fire.... just a heads up

Offline Sal Atticum

• Administrator
    • Campus Dakota
« Reply #4 on: April 04, 2011, 10:01:18 AM »