Author Topic: Good Mountain Bikes for Beginners ?  (Read 4181 times)

Offline pmp6nl

• Administrator
    • Campus Dakota.com
Good Mountain Bikes for Beginners ?
« on: May 18, 2008, 09:31:53 PM »
Hey everyone,

It seems like you are all more geared towards road bikes, but I was wondering if anyone has any suggestions for mountain bikes or what I should be looking for in a bike?  I have not biked regularly since I was younger so I am rather new to the whole mountain biking things and what not and not exactly sure what I should look for in bikes? 

Do brands really matter?  What about the specific hardware?  Are the guys in the store going to try to trick me into upgrading this or that, basically what should I look out for?

Thanks for your help!
CampusDakota.com

Offline pmp6nl

• Administrator
    • Campus Dakota.com
Re: Good Mountain Bikes for Beginners ?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2008, 09:33:13 PM »
Also, any comments on accessories: helmets, locks etc.  would be helpful.

thanks!
CampusDakota.com

Offline Plantains

• I've succumbed to corporate level marketing ploys.
  • No you are the one that is stupid!
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2008, 01:42:51 PM »
Honestly if you're looking for a basic MTB the things that I would personally consider are:

1. For what purpose are you using it? Racing? Rec Riding? Excercize?
2. Disc Brakes vs. V Brakes. Im a V brake man myself. But every frame AND WHEEL I've ever ridden (race wise) have been both disc and V compatible. I know a few years ago it was very common to sell a new bike with a wheelset that was disc compatible but not the frame? So you'd be screwed if you wanted to upgrade.

The pros and cons (as I see them)
Discs Pros:
1. WAY better in the slop.
2. Better stopping "feel".

Disc Cons:
1. Need to be trued and/or resurfaced if not properly cared for.
2. More expensive.