Author Topic: Graphics cards?  (Read 4402 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Sal Atticum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7116
  • Karma: 38
  • Gender: Male
    • Campus Dakota
Graphics cards?
« on: May 29, 2009, 01:04:19 pm »
I wish I was more of a hardware person, but I never really got into it.  So when it comes to buying something that's not standard (i.e., that I can't just swap out of something I have laying around), I'm pretty clueless.

I'm looking for a graphics card that will let me hook up to a television.  Will I be able to get a decent picture if I hook up to something that isn't digital?  Is it worth it?  Should I get something that goes directly to RCA cables, or to S-Video and then convert (although it looks to me like that's essentially running a composite signal through the S-Video cable in addition to the digital signal), or get some sort of box that turns the monitor output into a composite signal that will look halfway decent?

JUST EXTRA POLISH. I DO SOME WORK WITH EXCELL SO I KEEP THE CAPS LOCK ON :-P

Offline pmp6nl

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5617
  • Karma: 113
  • Gender: Male
    • Campus Dakota.com
Re: Graphics cards?
« Reply #1 on: May 30, 2009, 12:12:53 pm »
Are you looking for a graphics card that is also a tuner?  I would go the highest quality route that your tv allows for (be it HDMI or DVI or whatever).  That way you should in theory be able to get a better picture from the computer to the tv.  What are you planning on using it for.  HD video to your tv or what?
CampusDakota.com

Offline Sal Atticum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7116
  • Karma: 38
  • Gender: Male
    • Campus Dakota
Re: Graphics cards?
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2009, 04:33:43 pm »
I don't really care about having a tuner, since I don't want to be recording things.

The TV (and VCR) won't accept anything other than a composite signal.  This is not meant to be a top-quality setup, just a step up from having to watch things on the laptop screen and have everything in one place.
JUST EXTRA POLISH. I DO SOME WORK WITH EXCELL SO I KEEP THE CAPS LOCK ON :-P

Offline Sal Atticum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7116
  • Karma: 38
  • Gender: Male
    • Campus Dakota
Re: Graphics cards?
« Reply #3 on: June 07, 2009, 05:13:04 pm »
I'm looking at this one.  I think it will do what I need:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814139151
JUST EXTRA POLISH. I DO SOME WORK WITH EXCELL SO I KEEP THE CAPS LOCK ON :-P

Offline pmp6nl

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5617
  • Karma: 113
  • Gender: Male
    • Campus Dakota.com
Re: Graphics cards?
« Reply #4 on: June 16, 2009, 11:36:36 pm »
Looks pretty good, have you checked for driver compatibility for linux?
CampusDakota.com

Offline Sal Atticum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7116
  • Karma: 38
  • Gender: Male
    • Campus Dakota
Re: Graphics cards?
« Reply #5 on: June 17, 2009, 02:03:51 pm »
The reviews claim it works with Ubuntu, so I'm pretty sure.

May have to wait a few more weeks though...
JUST EXTRA POLISH. I DO SOME WORK WITH EXCELL SO I KEEP THE CAPS LOCK ON :-P

Offline pmp6nl

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5617
  • Karma: 113
  • Gender: Male
    • Campus Dakota.com
Re: Graphics cards?
« Reply #6 on: July 12, 2009, 11:59:38 pm »
Did you go ahead and get it?
CampusDakota.com

Offline Sal Atticum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7116
  • Karma: 38
  • Gender: Male
    • Campus Dakota
Re: Graphics cards?
« Reply #7 on: July 13, 2009, 11:35:33 am »
It would have been a mistake.  Somehow I got the interface wrong.

I am going to order a different one, after I get paid.
JUST EXTRA POLISH. I DO SOME WORK WITH EXCELL SO I KEEP THE CAPS LOCK ON :-P

Offline pmp6nl

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5617
  • Karma: 113
  • Gender: Male
    • Campus Dakota.com
Re: Graphics cards?
« Reply #8 on: July 13, 2009, 10:03:34 pm »
Whats wrong with the interface that you need a different one?
CampusDakota.com

Offline Sal Atticum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7116
  • Karma: 38
  • Gender: Male
    • Campus Dakota
Re: Graphics cards?
« Reply #9 on: July 14, 2009, 09:43:28 am »
The card I mention above is PCI, the motherboard has PCI-Express.
JUST EXTRA POLISH. I DO SOME WORK WITH EXCELL SO I KEEP THE CAPS LOCK ON :-P

Offline pmp6nl

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5617
  • Karma: 113
  • Gender: Male
    • Campus Dakota.com
Re: Graphics cards?
« Reply #10 on: July 14, 2009, 03:50:24 pm »
The card I mention above is PCI, the motherboard has PCI-Express.

Ah gotcha.  Thought you meant the physical interface as opposed to some GUI problem or something... just making sure.
CampusDakota.com

Offline Meest

  • UND
  • *
  • Posts: 235
  • Karma: 8
Re: Graphics cards?
« Reply #11 on: July 17, 2009, 03:00:32 pm »
The card I mention above is PCI, the motherboard has PCI-Express.

The mobo has PCI-Express but no PCI slots?? Very weird. is it a micro-ATX form factor? My mobo has PCI-express and PCI. Or are you looking for a Main video card that will do it all? I've had more trouble with it being all in one than having separate.

Offline Sal Atticum

  • Administrator
  • *****
  • Posts: 7116
  • Karma: 38
  • Gender: Male
    • Campus Dakota
Re: Graphics cards?
« Reply #12 on: July 17, 2009, 03:58:15 pm »
I was trying to swap PCI cards into it before and I couldn't make anything fit right.  They might be there and I just don't know what I'm doing.  I'm not great with hardware.
JUST EXTRA POLISH. I DO SOME WORK WITH EXCELL SO I KEEP THE CAPS LOCK ON :-P

 

With Quick-Reply you can write a post when viewing a topic without loading a new page. You can still use bulletin board code and smileys as you would in a normal post.

Name: Email:
Verification:
Type the letters shown in the picture
Listen to the letters / Request another image
Type the letters shown in the picture:
What color is an apple, it starts with an r?:
What is 5 plus 5?:
What is UND's new athletic nickname?:

anything
realistic
anything